marhabaan!

It’s been approximately a month since I left Malaysia to join my husband in the United Arab Emirates, and I probably should stop being lazy and actually start working on my blog.

So, here we are!

I was once an avid blogger when I was a student, but ever since returning from my year of studying in Japan, work and other things got in the way, and I stopped blogging for close to 7 years now. My last blog post was about the Great Tohoku Earthquake, which happened in 2011. Japan to me, is the place where I felt most at home – there was never a day when I was there that I felt unhappy, and when I left, it was with tears and an aching heart that still hurts whenever I think about my carefree Japan days.

DSCF7176
A whole new world

Now, for the unforeseen future, my home will be in Abu Dhabi, where my husband works. We got married 3 years ago, and although the initial plan was for me to join him soon after, health issues on my part prevented this from happening. So in addition to the 4 years we were separated before the wedding, this brings our long-distance relationship to a total of 7 years (out of 12 years of togetherness)!

I have visited a few times prior to this, and I don’t think it will be a bad place to live. It’s quiet, safe, and its close proximity to Europe makes it a great hub for travelers – we’re already halfway to (almost) anywhere on the map!

Which brings us to the first big trip we have taken since getting married: Europe! I have always wanted to visit Europe (especially Paris), so with the both of us turning the big 3-0 this year, we decided to embark on a big trip to celebrate our “official” start as a married couple.

20 days, 4 countries, 6 cities, 5 flights, 3 train rides, 2 excited bears (and 1 stuffed hippo).

DSCF7167
To infinity, and beyond!

Leave a comment